Webinar Wednesday for the Week of the Young Child, April 12-18

NAEYC Week of the Young Child logo.Are you celebrating the Week of the Young Child (WOYC)? Music Monday, Tasty Tuesday, Work Together Wednesday, Artsy Thursday and Family Friday are the daily themes set by the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) to inspire us to “focus public attention on the needs of young children and their families and to recognize the early childhood programs and services that meet those needs.” NAEYC offers resources for meeting the needs of the children in our care.  

On Wednesday I will be “working together” with you and others by attending a web seminar to build my understanding of the Early Childhood Science Education position statement, written and adopted by the National Science Teachers Association and endorsed by NAEYC. 

websmeminarLogo“STEM Starts Early: Guidance and support from the NSTA Early Childhood Science Education Position Statement,” will take us through the position statement, and its key research-based principles that inform and guide science teaching and learning in the early years. I’m looking forward to hearing the stories from real classrooms and viewing short classroom videos for analysis and discussion. We will have the opportunity to consider the position statement’s recommendations for:

  • Teaching—creating an environment and facilitating explorations that support children’s collaborative inquiry in physical, life, and earth science
  • Professional development—providing experiences for teachers and education providers that really build their capacity to promote young children’s science learning and inquiry
  • Policy—committing resources to support early childhood science education

NSTA Learning Center logo

 

Register on the NSTA Learning Center site: http://learningcenter.nsta.org/products/SeminarRegistration.aspx

Teacher participating in a web seminar.Thank you to the GE Foundation for underwriting this resource!

See you online on Wednesday, April 15, 2015 at 6:30 p.m. ET / 5:30 p.m. CT / 4:30 p.m. MT / 3:30 p.m. PT

This entry was posted in Early Years and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*
*