NSTA Press author Victor Sampson presents a webinar on scientific argumentation

Join NSTA Press author Victor Sampson for his webinar “Scientific Argumentation: Helping Students Identify, Evaluate, and Support Claims” (a 2-part course).

Use Smithsonian and other published resources to help students judge the quality or reliability of evidence, evaluate scientific claims, and construct scientific arguments. In a live, interactive format, try out an instructional strategy and an online annotation tool. This webinar will address inquiry skills and CCSS ELA standards for informational texts in scientific and technical subject areas. Provided materials focus on real-world, curriculum-relevant topics such as fracking and the Asian carp invasion.

Free registration required: http://SmithsonianScientificArgumentation.eventbrite.com

Target Audience: 9th and 10th grade science teachers
When: Part 1: Tuesday, February 17, 2015; Part 2: Monday, February 23, 2015

(Note: The course takes place over two sessions and attendance at both, along with completion of the evaluation, is required to receive a certificate)
Time: 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT/5:00 p.m. MT/4:00 p.m. PT
Duration: 60 minutes each session
Where: The event will take place online via the Google+ platform. Registrants will receive links to the two sessions prior to the event.
The webinar is archived and available for viewing after the live event has occurred.

Presenters
Michelle K. Smith is Associate Director for Digital Media in the Smithsonian Center for Learning and Digital Access. She oversees content development for instructional materials and web-based programs based on the Smithsonian’s collections and expertise.

Dr. Victor Sampson is an Associate Professor of STEM Education in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction at The University of Texas at Austin. He is the author of a growing series of books about engaging students in scientific argumentation, a key practice of science that helps students master content while they write about and discuss claims and evidence.

Certificate of Participation: Webinar participants earn a certificate of participation for attending both sessions and completing the evaluation form at the end of the program.
For more information: Contact learning@si.edu.

This entry was posted in NSTA Press Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*
*