Thank You to NSTA’s Newest Board, Council, Standing Committee, Advisory Board, and Panel Members

On behalf of the staff of the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA) and the many dedicated members of our leadership team, I would like to welcome and thank the following members of our Board, Council, Standing Committees, Advisory Boards, and Panels whose terms of appointment began on June 1, 2013. With the renewed national focus on STEM education and the release of the Next Generation Science Standards, this year will be an exciting time to be a leader in science education. I am delighted to have you all as my colleagues on this journey. The theme of my presidency is “Building and Sustaining Teacher Leadership in Science, Standards, and Literacy” and I know that with the talents and commitment you bring to the table, we will be able to achieve great things. So, to all of you on the list below, I say “Welcome” and I look forward to working with you!

NSTA members who are interested in volunteering for a position on one our committees, advisory boards, or review panels can find more information at

—Bill Badders, NSTA President, 2013–2014

Board of Directors

Sally Harms, College Division Director
Kelly Price, Coordination & Supervision Director
Beverly DeVore-Wedding, High School Division Director


Stephanie Wright, District III
Donna Governor, District V
Mary Colson, District IX
Paul Adams, District XI
Timothy Maze, District XV
Steven Ruthford, District XVII



Christie Orlosky, Greensburg, PA
Cindi Smith-Walters, Murfreesboro, TN
Sarah Hanes, Towson, MD

Coordination and Supervision

Kirsten Smith, Denton, NE
Matthew Stolz, Grand Rapids, MI
Christopher Duvall, Morristown, NJ
David Miller, Las Vegas, NV

High School

Karen Higuera, West Monroe, LA
Sharla Dowding, New Castle, WY
Brian Olsen, Enfield, CT


Stacey Glatz, Powell, OH
Miriam Musco, Ithaca, NY
Kelly Riedinger, Wilmington, NC
Eileen Tramontana, DeLeon Springs, FL
Karn Maher, Juneau, AK
Gary Sampson, Waukesha, WI

Middle Level

John Milam, University Heights, OH
Shannon Hudson, Crawfordsville, IN
Douglas Stith, Londonderry, NH
David Pettit, Livingston, MT


Margaret Carter, Wapato, WA
Jerry Valadez, Fresno, CA
S. Maxwell Hines, Winston-Salem, NC


Connie Crittenden, East Lansing, MI
Jessica Fries-Gaither, Hilliard, OH
Jessie Kelly, Snellville, GA

Preservice Teacher Preparation

Eric Brunsell, Oshkosh, WI
Michael Troop, Chicago, IL
Chris Ohana, Bellingham, WA

Professional Development

Julie Luft, Athens, GA
Eric Walters, Staten Island, NY
Christopher Soldat, Iowa City, IA


Pamela Auburn, Houston, TX
Lise Whitfield, Seattle, WA
Anne Schoeffler, Hudson, OH


Peter McLaren, Providence, RI

Awards and Recognition

Karen Nesbit, Franklin, WI
Jennifer Pritchard, Seattle, WA
Pat Shane, Chapel Hill, NC
James Puckett, Grand View, MO

Budget and Finance

Patricia Simmons, Raleigh, NC
Christine Royce, Newburg, PA


Debra Boris Nygard, Ramsey, MN
Hector Ibarra, Iowa City, IA
Linda Lacy, Excelsior Springs, MO
Herb Brunkhorst, Riverside, CA
Elizabeth Mulkerrin, Omaha, NE



Pam Evans, Charleston, IL
David Black, Provo, UT
Caroline d’Otreppe , Windsor Locks, CT
Richard Varner, Catonsville, MD


Cynthia Willingham, Vestavia Hills, AL


Jean Tushie, Eden Prairie, MN
Susan Koba, Omaha, NE


Teresa Kennedy, Tyler TX
Kathleen Horstmeyer, Chester, CT
Edralin Pagarigan, Rosedale, MD
Catherine Bale, West Point, NY


John Penick, Miami, FL
Patricia Simmons, Raleigh, NC

Journal of College Science Teaching

Brian Schmaefsky, Kingswood, TX
Barry Thompson, Evans, GA
Megan Litster, LaCrosse, WI

NSTA Reports

Barbara Tharp, Houston, TX
Mike Szydlowski, Columbia, MO
Wayne Snyder, Glendora, CA

Retired Members

Joyce Gleason, Punta Gorda, FL
Susan Clay, Parma, OH
Deb Wickerham, Findlay, OH
Ed LinzSpringfield, VA

Science & Children

Terri Hebert, South Bend, IN
Neporcha Cone, Kennesaw, GA
Wendy Frazier, Fairfax, VA

Science Matters

Stephan Bartlett, Fairfax, VA
Jean May-Brett, Baton Rouge, LA
Michelle Brand-Buchanan, Conway, AR

Science Safety

Beverly DeVore-Wedding, Meeker, CO
Lesa Rae, Leesburg, FL
Brian Wazlaw, Portsmouth, NH

Science Scope

Karen Matsler, Arlington, TX
Ella Bowling, Maysville, KY
Kelly Chaney, Little Rock, AR

Special Needs

Cheryl White, Round Rock, TX
Melissa Sleeper, Vera Beach, FL
Jennifer Purcell Coleman, Fayetteville, AR


Ben Smith, York, PA
Stephen Bock, Fresno, CA
Gregory Benedis-Grab, New York, NY

The Science Teacher

Stephen Bartos, Chicago, IL
Carrie Jones, Raleigh, NC
Michael Brinkman, Grand Prairie, TX

Urban Science

Trudy Giasi, Columbus, OH
Selina Bartels, Chicago, IL
Michael Harms, San Francisco, CA



Karen Ansberry, Lebanon, OH
Delene Hoffner, Colorado Springs, CO
Linda Schoen-Giddings, Columbia, SC

New Science Teachers Academy

Robin Curtis, Williamsburg, VA
Michael Lowry, Chattanooga, TN
John Clark, Deltona, FL

Shell Science Teaching Award Judging

Ruth Ruud, Cleveland, OH
Tamica Stubbs, Charlotte, NC

This entry was posted in NSTA Membership. Bookmark the permalink. Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>